Gun Control Laws in CA
- in Laws
Within the state of California, there is a wide range of gun control laws that put a limit on who has a right to purchase or own a firearm.
California’s laws on the matter are among the most restrictive in the country, which is why it’s important to study the laws in-depth before attempting to purchase a weapon. Since there are so many sets of laws pertaining to the use and ownership of guns in California, there is also a wide range of different penalties that can be levied, the most severe of which can lead to a felony charge. In only rare cases will the breaking of one of these laws constitute a misdemeanor charge.
If you know someone who has been arrested for violating a gun control law, you may wonder how to get them out of jail. Soon after being arrested, a judge will set bail, which is a certain amount of money that the defendant will need to post in order to be released until the court date. By utilizing a bail bonds company for assistance in this matter, you will only be required to pay 10 percent of the bail amount. Once this amount has been provided to the bail bondsman, the defendant will be set free until their court date. The following takes a closer look at the standard gun control laws in California.
Basic Gun Control Laws in California
There is a wide range of gun control laws in California, as the state has some of the most restrictive laws in the nation. For instance, there is a 10-day waiting period for someone to purchase a firearm. There are also plenty of additional limits that can remove someone from eligibility for a firearm. It’s also important to understand that there are a large number of illegal arms that cannot be owned by a resident in California under any circumstances. These illegal weapons include a cane gun, wallet gun, zip gun, any bullet with an explosive agent, any firearm that’s undetectable, a pistol that’s classified as unconventional, a shotgun barrel of fewer than 18 inches, and a rifle barrel of fewer than 16 inches. It’s also illegal to use a weapon with a barrel of fewer than 26 inches that’s designed to shoot a fixed shotgun shell.
Along with the weapons considered to be illegal in California, there are plenty of additional restrictions that take the form of a temporary or permanent ban. Some people are unable to own a firearm in certain situations. For instance, a 5-year ban is allotted to anyone who has been taken into custody and is considered to be a danger to themselves or to others. The same ban is also applied to anyone who is admitted to a mental health facility. In this event, a lifetime ban could be administered depending on the cause of being placed into a mental health facility.
A 10-year ban can be levied to anyone who is convicted of a misdemeanor for a violent crime. This type of crime can include anything from domestic violence to assault and battery. A permanent lifetime ban could also be administered in the most severe of cases. Anyone who has been convicted of a felony or select other crimes could be provided with a lifetime ban from purchasing a firearm. This ban could also be applied to someone who has been declared to be a mentally disordered sex offender. In the event that a person is found not guilty or incompetent to stand trial due to insanity, they will also have a lifetime ban from purchasing firearms.
Firearms are prohibited entirely from being on or near school grounds. If a person is caught with a firearm in the vicinity of a school, they will most likely be charged with a felony, which carries with it a substantial amount of jail time and hefty penalties. Anyone who is banned from owning a firearm could be charged with a felony if they attempt to purchase a firearm or are caught with a firearm in their possession. The same is also true for anyone who owns a weapon that’s considered to be illegal in the state of California.
Consider reading about auto recalls faqs