DUI Consequences in CA
- in Laws
No matter which state you live in, a DUI is a serious offense. While driving under the influence of alcohol is a serious offense in all 50 states, California has some of the toughest DUI laws in the country.
Even if you’ve only had a few beers, each time you drive behind the wheel after drinking you are committing a serious crime that comes with many risks and potential consequences. Not only do you risk losing your license and going to jail, but you also risk causing serious harm to yourself and those people you share the road with. If you find yourself being arrested for a DUI, it is important to know a good bail bondsman.
If you are a resident of California and you want to be better informed about the DUI laws in your state, the following information can help.
Zero Tolerance For Drivers Under The Age Of 21
As you already know, it is against the law for any person under the age of 21 to consume or carry alcoholic beverages. California takes this law a step further by enacting a zero-tolerance policy when it comes to drinking and driving by drivers under the legal drinking age. What this means is that there is no acceptable BAC (blood alcohol content) for drivers 21 and younger. Even if a driver under the age of 21 has not been drinking but has liquor in his or her car, this is still considered to be a serious offense that is punishable with a one-year license suspension and a fine of up to $1000.
California Is An Implied Consent Law State
When you get your license in the state of California, you are automatically consenting to a blood or urine test if a police officer pulls you over for suspicion of DUI. If you refuse to take the test, your license will automatically be suspended for up to a year and your car will be impounded. If this is your second or third denial of a chemical test, know that the penalties are even harsher. While California law mandates that you must submit to chemical testing if you are suspected of driving while under the influence of alcohol if you don’t want to pay a fine and have your car impounded, know that this does not include field sobriety tests. Refusing a field sobriety test is completely legal.
Penalties And Consequences Of DUI
Being charged with a DUI in California is extremely serious and comes with harsh penalties and consequences. If you are charged with your first DUI, expect to pay a fine between $1,400 and $2,600, a one-year driver’s license suspension, a minimum of 4 days in jail with a maximum of six months, and mandatory enrollment in a DUI education program. For a second DUI conviction, expect a minimum of 10 days in jail with a maximum of one year, a fine between $1,800 and $2,800, a license suspension of up to two years, and an interlock system must be installed on your car. Anything after two DUI’s in a 10 year period is considered a felony and will result in a long jail sentence and even more expensive fines and penalties.
In order to avoid the harsh penalties and consequences that can result from a DUI in California, it is best to avoid driving a car if your blood alcohol content (BAC) is .08 or higher. If you are a commercial driver, that limit is even lower at .04. While it is best to avoid drinking and driving altogether, a bail bond company can help out if you are caught driving under the influence of alcohol. It can be extremely difficult to come up with a large amount of money needed to post bail for a DUI charge, and that is why a bail bond company is here to help. Drinking and driving is a serious offense punishable by very steep fines and consequences, but a bail bond can help make this stressful situation a little bit easier to handle by loaning you the money you need in your time of DUI trouble.